World Book Day:

20140306-100704.jpg

World Book Day:

Coming home for the weekend means I can have a few days to myself where I can have proper dinners,watch all the tv I’ve missed by not being at home and catch up on sleep and enjoy some ‘me’ time by catching up on my reading.

At uni it seems very difficult to sit and concentrate on one thing at one set time.

So coming home it means I can switch my mind off from things in Southampton and just chill.

I love days like this where you can get away with sitting in your planets and lounge reading a good book.

And what better way than world book day. I’m currently reading ‘I heart Paris’ one of the books in the I heart series from one of my favourite authors,Lindsey Kelk.

Other favourite books of mine include:

From Notting Hill…with Love Actually/New York Actually by Ali McNamara.

I read these books in less than a day. I couldn’t put them down they were so addictive. And pretty much summed up my love of films completely. I can’t contain my excitement for the next instalment of the Sean and Scarlett series.

I’m also in the process of interviewing Ali for a feature which is even more cool.

The Pride by Alexi Kay Campbell.

Going to see this play on stage last year completely changed my life. As cliche as that sounds. I waited all summer to see Hayley Atwell in the role as Sylvia, begging my mum pretty much everyday to go and see it. She finally gave in and on a spontaneous whim we saw the second to last performance on the last day. I was so glad I waited.

The Pride examines the issues of gay rights between the years of 1958 and 2008. It follows the lives of married couple Philip and Sylvia and her Sylvia’s friend, Oliver and the love triangle between these three people.

It completely blew me away and I couldn’t help but not buy the book of the play the next time I was in London. I read it in less than two hours.

Growing Pains by Billie Piper.

I remember reading Billie Pipers autobiography when I was around fourteen years old. Another case of having to beg my mum for it I believe . It seems I done a lot of that as a child.

That was the first book I read in less than a week.

I found it so interesting finding out about Billie’s life and all the things she faced in life to get to where she is today. A singing career at the age of 16, dating and then going on to marry radio dj Chris Evans but also the drugs. At the end of the day,all of that made her the person that she is today.

What will you be doing to celebrate World Book Day?

I’m also intrigued to know, what are your favourite books?

Enjoy National Book Day,you lovely book lovers.

Leave a Reply

