Trafalger Transformed: Season 2

20140515-184239.jpg

I’ve always loved the theatre,but it wasn’t until I went to go and see Alexi Kay Campbell’s The Pride,the last in the first series of his Trafalger Transformed season that I realised quite how much.

Trafalger Transformed started last year. It was a season of three plays directed by Jamie Lloyd starring many famous faces.

It started with James McAvoy’s performance in Macbeth which I unfortunately didn’t get around to seeing,but heard great things about.

Next came The Hot House which starred Simon Russell Beale and ended with Hayley Atwell’s performance in The Pride which after much begging from my mum I finally got to see on the last day of it’s run. It didn’t disappoint and I was so glad I got to see it.

It was The Pride that made me realise my love,not only for theatre,but also the work of Jamie Lloyd.

I have since fallen in love with each of the pieces of theatre I’ve seen.

From performances in the west end(Coriolanus at the Donmar with the talented Tom Hiddleston,Once at the Phoenix starring the lovely Declan Bennett and Mojo with the incredible casting of Ben Whishaw and Daniel Mays) to touring productions of War Horse at The Mayflower in Southampton and Birdsong at the Theatre Royal Winchester. It’s all thanks to Jamie Lloyd that I started to enjoy theatre and of course my friend Tim for sharing these experiences with me.

Jamie once again returns this summer with Trafalgar Transformed season 2.

It begins with Shakespeare’s Richard III starring Sherlocks Martin Freeman from July 1st-September 27th and continues,from October 4th-January 3rd with East is East.

Like last season,£15 Mondays will once again be offered for those first time theatre goers to experience the magic of theatre for a reasonable price.

I will once again try and purchases tickets for one or both of these productions as their bound to be amazing,if not because of the cast,then became of Jamie Llyods amazing direction.

For more information and to buy tickets visit:

http://www.trafalgartransformed.com/
http://bit.ly/richardIIIATG
http://bit.ly/eastiseastATG

20140515-184318.jpg

From l-r: Declan Bennett and Zrinka Cvitesic in Once,George Banks and Carolin Stoltz in the touring production of Birdsong,Tom Hiddleston in Coriolanus and Hayley Atwell in The Pride.

Since seeing Birdsong a few weeks ago I’m currently reading the book and loving it. So much so I’m looking into booking tickets for the last show of Birdsong in Eastbourne because it was just so good and I can’t get it out of my mind.

Also now that the summer has started I’m going to work on two theatre projects,a theatre fanzine and a theatre script as I’m so tempted to write a play and tour it around the country. It must be so fun. No idea who I’d get in contact with to make it happen though.This is why I collect script books,so i can one day write my own script and tour it.

If anyone has any advice on wiring a script and how to get it noticed any advice will be appreciated.

That’s it for now,you lovely lot.

Have a great rest of the week and weekend.

Emily
Xo

Leave a Reply

