Heroes at Highclere,Lights Out & Writing

IMG_5813.JPG

IMG_5742.JPG

IMG_5730.JPG

IMG_5743.JPG

Heroes at Highclere

Sorry for not posting in just over a week.

The past week and a bit has been rather hectic on the writing front. I wrote three different pieces for three different competitions which I’m waiting to hear back from.

Also last weekend was the Heroes at Highclere event at Highclere castle also known as Downton Abbey. Those who know me know that I’m a huge Downton Abbey Fan,and for those who don’t,you now do.

I didn’t think I was going to get to go as I wouldn’t have got there in time but my friend Alice who I met on Twitter and met for the first time back in June invited me to stay at her house the night before so we could go and share the experience together.

A few days before the event I saw a advertisement on Twitter from one of the journalist profiles I follow saying about a job as a contributor at the site Film and Tv now. I sent off my cv and thought nothing of it. Then,Saturday afternoon just as I was about to catch my train to Shoreham to meet Alice,I received an email from the editor,Lisa letting me know that she had reviewed my cv and asked me to write a tv piece on anything of my choice.

I thought about it on the train going up to shoreham but put it to the back of my mind until I came home Monday.

Alice picked me up from the station at 8.45 after a very hectic and squished train journey due to it being the weekend of Pride in Brighton. We had a chilled evening before our early morning start en route to Newbury and Highclere.

It was a very exciting day and I got a bit overwhelmed when I saw the house. I’d waited 4 years,since the show had started to visit. It exceeded my expectations completely. Still yet to go in the house itself but the grounds were beautiful. It helped that the weather held out too.

The grounds were filled with white coloured markee tents including a music tent where I managed to catch The Three Belles,The Military Wives and some swing dancers. Was very tempted to join them. There was also a tent for oxfam where we admired all the beautiful vintage clothes that were way out of my price range,amongst others.

The day celebrated all those who we lost within the First World War and those who gave their lives. Various charities were there including The Poppy Appeal and Help for Heroes along with hero bear who I got a bit excited about as he had had photos taken with the Birdsong cast. Silly I know.

It was so lovely to be out in the sunshine to help celebrate.

Unfortunately,unlike previous years,Elizabeth McGovern was the only member of the Downton cast to attend the event. She came on the stage after a lovely introduction from Hugh Bonneville to tremendous applause with her band Sadie and the Hotheads.

All in all the event was great and I’m so glad I got the opportunity to go. Thankyou to Alice and her family.

I don’t know how many photos I took of or by the house so I won’t bore you with all of them but a few of my favourites are above and below this post.

After a great weekend I came home and wrote my first article for film and tv now about the Great War programme airing on itv tomorrow evening before going to the #LightsOut event in town to commemorate the start of world war 1 100 years ago.

On Tuesday I went and spent a few days with my family which involved a day of shopping and ended up with the shot below in ikea.

Another post for film and tv now was put up within those days. Both can be found below.

http://www.filmandtvnow.com/itv-commission-drama-series-celebrate-first-world-war-centenary/

http://www.filmandtvnow.com/full-cast-announced-for-maxine-peakes-hamlet/

Needless to say the next few days will be spent writing a few more articles and reading.

I’ve also decided to start doing book blogposts about books I read over the rest of the summer so look out for those.

Also I still need more people to join the fanzine so if you’re a fan of theatre check out this post.

https://emilypontin.wordpress.com/2014/07/16/for-the-love-of-theatre-a-fanzine/

Hope you’re all well.

Enjoy the rest of your weekend.

E ❤️

br />
IMG_5772.JPG

IMG_5755.JPG</a

IMG_5767.JPG

IMG_5766.JPG

IMG_5788.JPG

IMG_5802.JPG

IMG_5780.JPG

IMG_5791.JPG

IMG_5839.JPG

IMG_5827.JPG

One thought on “Heroes at Highclere,Lights Out & Writing

Leave a Reply

