Don’t Give Up

A friend on my Facebook timeline this morning posted that they should have stuck to their original career plan because their writing wasn’t doing too well.

Being the friend that I am I sent her a message and gave her some advice, which got me thinking,should we really give up on something we love because learning difficulties and someone saying our writing isn’t good enough set us back? The answer to that my dear friends,is no.

That would be like everyone being and thinking the same. I got into this exact conversation with a friend yesterday in McDonald’s. Getting into deep conversations in McDonald’s over chicken nuggets,I know,what has the world come to?

Anyway, the following statement got apposed ‘he may not be the brightest star’ which got me thinking-is anyone really the brightest star? We’re all good at something,whether that be writing,singing or flipping the best pancake,I don’t know. But just because we each have that talent,it doesn’t mean everyone else does too. If everyone did,then the world would quick frankly be boring.

We should accept what we’re good at as something that makes us unique and a shining star in our own right. People need to stop comparing themselves to others(I know,I do it all the time) but regardless of who’s better at this or who’s better at that it doesn’t mean it makes you any less great. You have a talent that no one else does,you just have to believe in yourself.

I feel like I went off on a bit of a tangent then,so back to the matter in hand. Just because someone says that your writing isn’t good enough,because you suffer with a learning difficulty such as dyslexia,it doesn’t mean you should give up. Just because someone out there won’t give you a chance,it doesn’t mean you should stop doing what you enjoy.

Take writing for example. I know it’s frustrating and difficult when you don’t get an opportunity from something you put your heart and soul into, even if it turns out to not be grammatically correct or right for the publication you were aiming for as long as you enjoyed writing it,that’s the main thing. And presides,who knows later along the like the article you write might be right for a different publication.

Don’t give up and keep doing what you enjoy. Life’s too short not to.

I apologise if this blogpost is random but I just thought I would share my musings with you.

Hope you’re all well. The video to accompany yesterday’s blogpost is now up,which you can view here.

Also my review of last nights episode of Cilla is also live so feel free to check it out here if you wish 🙂

Lots of love

E ❤️

IMG_6199.JPG

Leave a Reply

