Lindsey Kelk:Always the Bridesmaid Book Signing

Waterstones West Quay,Southampton


It’s very rare that one of my favourite authors comes to my home town. So when I found out that Lindsey Kelk was coming to Southampton I jumped at the chance to go and meet her.

I never go to things that involve waiting around on my own. But as this was in Southampton and in West Quay Waterstones I decided to go on my own.

Arriving at 10.30 as I didn’t know if it was going to be busy,I purchased her new book,Always the Bridesmaid and went and sat down in one of the comfy chairs at the back of the shop to read it whilst I waited.

I got to chapter 4 before I went back to where the queue had begun to form and got in line,continuing to read whilst I waited to meet one of my writing heroes.

It’s always a nervous experience waiting in line for something like this. Well I think it is anyway. All sorts of questions go through your head as you figure out what you want to say. Then when you actually get to the front of the queue and its your turn everything you planned to say goes out of your head.

I did manage to tell her I was enjoying the book so far and we had a chat about her writing process and how weird it was to see her name in a bookshop. She then said that if she could write a book and see it in Waterstones,I most certainly can too.

Hearing this gave me a bit more confidence in my writing and hope that I too will one day see my name on a book.

Big thanks to Lindsey Kelk for being so lovely.


Leave a Reply

