Room at the Top Book Review 

Title: Room at the Top

Author: John Braine   
  

“I was a devil of a fellow,I was the lover of a married woman,I was taking out the daughter of one of the richest men in Warley,there wasn’t a damn thing I couldn’t do.

“The ruthlessly ambitious Joe Lampton rises swiftly from the petty bureaucracy of local government into the unfamiliar world of inherited wealth,fast cars and glamorous women. But the price of success is high and betrayal and tragedy strikes as Joe Lampton pursues his goals”

I downloaded the two part series based on this book about a month ago and loved it. So much so that I’ve watched it five more times since. 

When I found out it was based on a book I seeked it out,finding it on eBay for 75p. Bargain. 

Having watched the TV series first,I had a general idea of how the characters looked and sounded in my head. 

Room at the Top takes you on a whirlwind of a journey from Joe’s time when he lived in the rundown town of Dufton to his new life at the top in Warely. Ideally he’s a ladies man,constantly flirting with every woman he’s sees. 

When he joins the Warley players,a theatre group he meets and becomes smitten with Susan Brown,a young woman who has grown up in wealth. 

Whilst trying to pursue her,Joe also becomes friends and ends up having an affair with Alice Aisgill,an older married women. 

Throughout the book you’ll begin to feel for Joe in his relationships. On one hand there’s Alice,a woman he loves,one who would look after him and love him fully. Then on the other hand there’s Susan,a young girl who enjoys the ballet and loves Joe with all her heart. But Joe is torn between being able to be with Alice and have his reputation taken away or a wealthy life and a job he’s happy with if he married Susan. 

What I loved about this book was the way Braine set out the backstory of each character. How it took me this long to read I’ve no idea. 

I would definitely recommend this book if you’re a fan of books set in the 1950s. 

Leave a Reply

