30 Day Writing Challenge: Day 10

Day 10: Write about something for which you feel strongly 


The first thing that came to mind is something I’m struggling with at the moment. Getting a job without having experience! I don’t understand why no one will even give me a chance! All it takes is one person to say yes or offer you an interview then you’re in there. But for those jobs(most jobs in fact) require at least a minimum of 1 years hospitality of customer service experience! How do you demonstrate that though when you haven’t had a job because you’ve been in education for the last 15 years? 
It’s so frustrating to get a no,or not even get a reply period,purely because you have no experience. It also doesn’t help that you have to sell yourself on a bit of paper. If you were allowed to go in and show them what you can do then maybe it wouldn’t be so bad. It’s just irritating that it seems to be an issue. 
This was also something that got brought up when I went to my last meeting with my advisor. ‘Do you think your age has something to do with it?’ He said. ‘Maybe’ I replied. ‘I think it’s also the issue that some people got their first job when they were 16 or younger and have more experience than someone like me at the age of 22’. You could disagree however that I’ve had more experience in the fact of learning the skills I needed to supposedly succeed in my chosen career path,but so far that hasn’t happened. I’m hoping that that changes soon,because I don’t think it’s fair to be told you aren’t qualified and can’t do a job purely because you don’t have experience. 
What do you feel strongly about? 
 

Leave a Reply

